Little off topic :) – Chocolate Cake recipe!

When I’m in a bad mood I bake. I don’t typically like making desserts. I find the perfect measuring, timing, and order of ingredients tiresome. It’s not like cooking, where you can improvise everything and anything. It’s not even like baking bread and biscuits, where you can follow your instincts. Baking cakes, cookies, brownies, requires concentration. And that’s why it’s perfect for a bad mood. You can’t replay events or emotions in your mind. You can’t stew over real or imagined hurts. You need to concentrate. One cup flour. Half a cup cocoa. Add eggs one at a time, beating at least two minutes between additions.

By the time you are done with your baking, you are washing the dishes and all you are thinking is, my goodness, this is why I never bake. Look how many dishes are in the sink. And soon enough the house smells soothing and homelike.

Best of all, you have a big ol’ slab of homemade chocolate cake to eat. And that makes a great late night treat while you’re shopping at Abby’s Lane! 😉

(I call this recipe Bad Mood Chocolate Cake. But I promise it puts a smile on your face!)

September 29, 2010. Fun.

2 Comments

  1. abbyslane replied:

    I think what would be even BETTER is if you did the cooking and brought me a piece next week 😀

  2. Rose replied:

    I think I will do just that! You certainly deserve it, hope the little guy is feeling better. ❤

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

