Everything you wanted to know about the Flip.

I wanted to share some Flip feedback 🙂 We have had many moms writing in asking how they are working, and many more moms emailing us with their comments and feedback.

We spoke with two moms this week using them on babies 10 pounds or under. One had a 9 pound newborn, and started using the flip at the 2 week mark, the other had a 10 pound 4 week old, so a bit older but the same weight. Both loved the simplicity of the system, and both had a great fit with the cover even at only 10 pounds. The only downside was on really messy poops, some did escape the insert (a mix between the stay dry and organic inserts), and would get on the cover, but did not leak out of the cover itself. Since this can happen with regular prefold/cover systems, it isn’t a bad thing for the Flip, the key is keeping it contained which it seems to be doing a good job of.

The other moms had older babies, and a good range of weights and builds (slender, average, chunky). Some were really amazed how the organic insert did at holding their heavy wetters for nighttime, and adding an extra insetr for nighttime kept it a very trim system and still held their babies. Some did need a fleece liner on top for the nap and nighttime periods, but this can happen at any age if wetness is a problem with urine concetration/ammonia for longer periods of time.
What I am seeing, if you like pre-stuffing your pockets or using AIOs, and having to deal with two pieces throughout the day is bothersome, it isn’t the system for you. If you stuff as you go, or use fitteds and/or prefolds with covers, moms are really enjoying the system. Especially with the interchangeable inserts (some are doing stay dry during daytime, organic at night with a fleece liner for more absorbency, or some just streamline and do all the same thing), there is a good deal of variety there.

One diaper does have a 14 day trial, meaning if you purchase one, you can use and wash it for up to 2 weeks. Decide you don’t like it, email us and we will have you send it back to the manufacturer, and you receive a full product refund.

July 6, 2010. cloth diapers, Flip, Q & A.

5 Comments

  1. Christina Blanton replied:

    I’ve been using the Flip system for about a month. I find the stay dry insert to be very absorbent and the top layer leaves my daughter’s skin very dry. I’m a stuff as I go mom- so this system works great for us. Cotton Babies seem to make a cover that has a really good fit. My dd is very tall and skinny so we usually have fit issues, but the flip system fits really well and the best thing is we have never had any leaks.

  2. Christy replied:

    What about the disposable inserts? Did they ever update those? I wanted to like them but they were soooo thin and didn’t work for us.

  3. Amanda replied:

    I started with prefolds/covers, then went to BG pockets when we tried to get our daycare to use cloth. Came home with LO in January and needed more diapers to not rush our wash cycle — thought we’d try the Flip. It’s OK. I guess our 16 month old is a heavy wetter — I double her inserts on every diaper and double with hemp for naps and nighttime. Would never use the Flip for that — I’d be afraid the inserts wouldn’t stay in place. I agree that, since I pre-stuff, I feel like diaper changes take forever with the Flip. It’s also risky if LO poops in it.

    We have been tossing around getting another day-pack of the Flip — my husband doesn’t mind them — versus more BG pockets. Since BG just released the much-needed snaps in the pockets, I may have my answer. I guess I’m spoiled!!

  4. Stephanie Binaco replied:

    I really love Flips but do not like or use their inserts at all. Due to allergies, stay dry is out but the organic insert is very bulky & I just wasn’t impressed. The Flip covers do fit my son great. He’s 21 lbs & 6 months old.

    I just use Joey Bunz. They are very absorbant & extremely trim. I’ve been using 2 during the day & 3 at night. They hold up to 8 hours at night & are so easy to use since there’s no folding the insert. The shape is perfect for a Flip cover. They also dry fast & last forever. I still have ones I bought when my 7 year old was in diapers.

    In a pinch if I’m out of Joey Bunz, I also use trifolded prefolds or Bigger Weeds. The Bigger Weeds are also extremely absorbant, though can be bulkier & do require some folding. But for overnight, they work very well.

  5. Susannah replied:

    I have tried Flip along with several other brands for our very slender 2YO. I really like being able to reuse the cover & just change out the inserts. Have had no problems with them & they hold up for naptime, though I haven’t tried overnight. We have the organic cotton inserts, but I have also tried using the inserts of other brands (FuzziBunz, Blueberry, bumGenius) in them with success.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

