Men folk may not be interested…

For Diaper Chatter this week, we are starting with our chapters on menstrual alternatives. Today we are talking about Sea Sponges:

http://www.abbyslane.com/catalog.php?category=828

Next week we chat about the Diva Cup, which was my first device after the use of many years of tampons. Sea Sponges have become my preferred method since the birth of my second daughter. I can still use the Diva, but here is why I like the sponges better:
-They are very easy to use. No adjusting to get it in the right spot, if you push them in as high as you can, you get a perfect fit every time. They are soft, absorbent, and conform to your body. There is no suction keeping them in place, so there is no seeping around the sides that can occur. Like any of these devices, use a backup pantyliner when trying them out and at nighttime to collect any overflow.

No risk of TSS, no dioxins to carry any harmful after effects, no bleached paper products that dry out your vagina.
For those who use tampons exclusively, how nice would it be to:

-Be able to insert something early so you don’t have to worry about the “when” of your cycle catching you off guard in the mall with 2 kids in tow? Especially for that first post partum period that you never see coming? Now, picture being able to have that protection with out the horrid dry feeling of pulling out a dry tampon to change it when your cycle starts not on cue. That scratchy, skin-pulling feeling that stings after that tampon is removed, knowing you have pulled on your internal skin to get it out.
-Not have to worry about finding a trash can to dispose of tampons in. Especially at friends or family’s houses, when you don’t know when they will take out their bathroom trash, and you leave behind embarrassing odors. Or, in your own house not having to worry about taking out the empty trashcan just to throw away one tampon?
-Saving $$ over disposable products
-Protecting your health, and mother earth with the lack of more disposable products.
-Having to leave in that last tampon and pulling it off barely used, encountering the same pain and discomfort as the first tampon of the cycle.
-That great feeling of having a huge bulging tampon in on your heaviest day
-Many women confirm their cramps are LESSENED by sea sponges, when you have a non-drying device in place, your body isn’t working so hard to discharge it, This isn’t the case for all women, but isn’t it worth a try?

Sponges, I have found, are cleaner than tampons. I could never use tampons with completely “clean” hands 100% of the time, since you wash your hands anyway after using a tampon, wash your sponge with them!
In public, carry a water bottle in your purse with you, rinse them out as best you can, wash fully when you get home. Caught without a water bottle? Squeeze out as best you can, reinsert and clean later. I have a very heavy flow for the first 3 days, and I clean my sponges every 3 hours during the day with no problems, and use a panty liner at night to protect myself.
Really, for the price you have to give them a try. One sponge can be reused for 3-6 cycles, just wash thoroughly with hydrogen peroxide in between cycles. A 2 pack that comes with them lasts you for 6-12 cycles, They are worth a try, if you are open to giving them a shot, now is a great time 🙂

Email me with any questions, nothing is “TMI”, and I am very passionate about helping you find a safe and comfortable alternative to your cycle.
Have a beautiful weekend!

June 7, 2010. Tags: . Diaper Chatter, Mama Cloth, menstruation alternatives.

3 Comments

  1. Jill replied:

    I normally would not even post a reply, but something about this bothers me. Does anyone really just put in a tampon just in case? I would find that VERY weird, especially talking about a 1st PPP, because that could happen anytime from the next month to over a year later, are people supposed to be putting in a tampon every day? I did not know that people did that. I just figured they waited until it started. Maybe I am the weird one, but I would find that a terrible waste!

    • abbyslane replied:

      I know when I worked as a waitress, we never got a bathroom break, so it was either wear it early/risk a big mess. I know other women have done the same, so while I don’t recommend it, it is a reality for some so I needed to address it 🙂

  2. Almost Granola « It's The Cloth That Counts. replied:

    […] then Stephanie posted this article. I wasn’t too interested: except for this fact. She posted this article in the summertime. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

