Happy Mother’s Day!

Lisa is a stay at home Mama to Emma and currently an incubator for Amani. When she is chasing after her toddler and two dogs, she likes to listen to the Navy Band concerts where her hubby plays the trumpet. 😉

I think the moment that I really “became” a mother, was when our daughter was minutes old and the doctors kept poking her with needles in case she needed an IV line. I was still under heavy medications from the Csection and through the haze, managed to tell the doctors to quit it and take the line out, she was fine–my mother-sense told me so. It was like I suddenly had the strength of twenty men and managed to sit myself up on the bed and asked for my baby. I didn’t get a chance to properly introduce myself to her or get to eat her up with kisses. I just had to be her Mom.

It turns out, my mother-sense was right, she was completely fine and I was there to make sure they didn’t do anything unnecessary. She was preemie weight, the tiniest thing ever, and although I was frightened at the prospect of taking her home, I knew what I had to do. So, I had my first major conversation with my daughter at minutes old. I told her:” We are going to do this together. You don’t know what you are doing yet, I am not sure I know what I am doing yet, but as long as we are together, everything will be ok.”

Sometimes, I think to myself, I wish I had a sweeter introduction into motherhood and stepped into that role in a smoother way. But, then I just remind myself that “becoming” a mother happens in very different ways to different women…and that is good. If we all “became” mothers at the same time, there wouldn’t be new stories to tell and that to me, would be a very boring way to celebrate Mother’s Day. 🙂

May 9, 2010. Guest post, Motherhood.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

